2018 Broyles Award


The Broyles Award was established in 1996 by Frank Broyles and David Bazzel to recognize some of the most dedicated, hardest-working people in America – college football assistant coaches.

The Broyles Award quickly became synonymous with excellence in collegiate coaching, as many finalists and recipients of the Broyles Award have gone on to become head coaches at collegiate and professional levels.




Winner of the 23rd annual Broyles Award: Mike Locksley.
Image: @AlabamaFTBL

In his first season as Alabama’s only offensive coordinator, Locksley has led the Crimson Tide to top 10 rankings in total offense, scoring offense, passing offense and third-down offense. Alabama has three offensive players who were finalists for national position awards – quarterback Tua Tagovailoa (Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award), receiver Jerry Jeudy (Biletnikoff Trophy) and offensive lineman Jonah Williams (Outland Trophy).

Locksley was a co-offensive coordinator for Alabama national championship team in 2017 and was promoted to the team’s only offensive coordinator in February. He previously served as an offensive coordinator and interim head coach at Maryland from 2012-15 and was head coach at New Mexico from 2009-11.

The No. 1 Crimson Tide are scheduled to play No. 2 Clemson in the Cotton Bowl as part of the College Football Playoff Championship on Jan 7, 2019.


The 2018 Broyles Award finalists included:

  • Alabama – Mike Locksley, Offensive Coordinator
  • Army – Jay Bateman, Defensive Coordinator
  • Clemson – Jeff Scott, Co-Offensive Coordinator/WRs
  • Mississippi State – Bob Shoop, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
  • Notre Dame – Chip Long, Offensive Coordinator

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s