2018 Davey O’Brien Award


The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics.

Davey O’Brien was named to the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955 and the Texas Sports Hall of Fame in 1956.

Originally, the Davey O’Brien Memorial Trophy was presented annually to the most outstanding player in the Southwestern states of Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas. Four years later, the award was expanded nationally in scope and limited to quarterback, the primary position of our namesake. The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is the nation’s oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.




Murray is to report in Arizona this spring to begin his Major League Baseball career with the Oakland Athletics.
Photo: Sooner Sports

Murray, the 2018 Davey O’Brien winner, has amassed more than 4,000 total yards of offense (3,310 passing and 739 rushing). The junior has completed 196 of 279 passes with 34 touchdowns, and has also scored 10 rushing touchdowns while averaging 7.1 yards per carry.

Nationally, Murray ranks second in points responsible for (264), passing efficiency (205.8), total quarterback rating (95.5) and passing yards per attempt (11.9). He also is among the NCAA top 10 in total offense per game (3rd, 368.1), touchdown passes (4th, 34), completion percentage (6th, .703) and passing yards (8th, 3,310).

The product of Allen, Texas, has accounted for at least four touchdowns on eight occasions, highlighted by a game against Baylor when he totaled 477 total yards and seven scores. He was named the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week on Sept. 13.

Oklahoma finished the season with a 12-2 record and were ranked No. 4 at the end of the regular season. Murray joins Mayfield (2017), Bradford (2008), White (2003, 2004) as the Sooners’ winners all time.


The 2018 Davey O’Brien Award finalists included:

  • Washington State – Gardner Minshew II, senior
  • Oklahoma – Kyler Murray, junior
  • Alabama – Tua Tagovailoa, sophomore

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s