2018 Bronko Nagurski Award


The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) has annually chosen a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993.

In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of a legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota, Bronislaw “Bronko” Nagurski. Nagurski dominated college football then became a star for professional football’s Chicago Bears in the 1930s. He is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.




Kentucky senior outside linebacker Josh Allen has been named the winner of the Bronko Nagurski Trophy awarded to the nation’s top defensive player, it was announced at Monday’s (Dec 3rd) awards banquet in Charlotte by the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

On the season, Allen has registered 84 total tackles, 18.5 tackles for loss, 14 sacks, five forced fumbles, six quarterback hurries and four pass breakups. He is tied for first nationally in forced fumbles, second nationally and first in the SEC in sacks and is tied for ninth nationally and first in the SEC in tackles for loss in helping the Wildcats to its first nine-win regular season since 1977, its first winning record in the SEC in 41 years and its first-ever Citrus Bowl bid, where Kentucky will face Penn State on Jan. 1.


The 2018 Bronko Nagurski Award finalists included:

  • Josh Allen, LB, Kentucky
  • Devin Bush, LB, Michigan
  • Grant Delpit, S, LSU
  • Christian Wilkins, DT, Clemson
  • Quinnen Williams, NG, Alabama

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s