2018 Doak Walker Award


The Doak Walker Award, first awarded in 1990, honors the top running back in college football in the United States. It is named in honor of Doak Walker, a star halfback in college for the SMU Mustangs and in the National Football League for the Detroit Lions.

Doak Walker won the 1948 Heisman Trophy.




Taylor led the FBS in rushing with 2,194 yards on 307 carries, an impressive 7.1 yards per carry despite being the focus of opposing defenses, and 16 touchdowns. He went over 100 yards rushing in 12 of his 13 games, including four 200-yard games. Taylor posted a career-high 321 yards and three touchdowns against Purdue in November.

After just two seasons and 27 games, Taylor has rushed for 4,171 yards and ranks fifth on the all-time Wisconsin rushing list.

Taylor was named MVP of the 2018 Pinstripe bowl (Dec 27), where he gouged Miami for 205 yards on 27 carries with one touchdown.

Taylor will be recognized at the Doak Walker Award Banquet on Feb. 8 in Dallas. Johnny Robinson, the 2018 PwC Doak Walker Legends Award recipient, will also be honored.


The 2018 Doak Walker Award finalists included:

  • Clemson – RB Travis Etienne, sophomore
  • Memphis – RB Darrell Henderson, junior
  • Wisconsin – RB Jonathan Taylor, sophomore

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s