2018 Fred Mitchell Award


The annual Fred Mitchell Outstanding Place-Kicker Award is provided to the nation’s top collegiate place-kicker among more than 750 FCS, Division II, III, NAIA and NJCAA football teams.

The Award is named for Fred Mitchell, the record-setting place-kicker, Wittenberg University Athletic Hall of Famer, author, philanthropist and former Chicago Tribune sports columnist. The recipient of the Fred Mitchell Award is chosen based on excellence on the football field and in the community.




Alcobendas was named first team selection on the American Football Coaches Association NCAA Football Championship Subdivision All-America team.
Image: fredmitchell.com


Eastern Washington University’s senior place-kicker Roldan Alcobendas (Camas, Wash.) is the recipient of the 2018 Fred Mitchell Award. 

“Roldan Alcobendas checks all the boxes when it comes to fulfilling the criteria for being the 2018 Fred Mitchell Award winner. His perseverance following a pair of devastating knee injuries has been remarkable. And his commitment to community service is what we are all about. We are proud to add him to our family of distinguished winners.” said Fred Mitchell.

Alcobendas remarked, “I was honestly speechless when Mr. Mitchell let me know. I’m very honored to be recognized with this award.”

Alcobendas earned first team All-Big Sky Conference honors as both a kicker and punter for EWU in 2018. His 113 kick-scoring points this season broke the school record of 103 and ranks fifth in Big Sky history, and his 314 career points are also a school record and rank sixth all-time in the league. His second extra point of the season was blocked, but he’s made all 67 since then for a season total of 68-of-69 to break his own single season consecutive makes record of 63 set in 2016. He also owns the career record with 85-straight from 2016-2017.

His 44.9 punting average is second nationally, ranking only behind Chris Faddoul of Florida A&M (46.8).

Off the field, Alcobendas and the Eastern football program participate in numerous community service projects during the year, including youth clinics, Cheney “Clean-Sweep” campus pick-up days, the “Bleed Eagle Red” blood drive, the HUB 360 Program for middle school students, Special Olympics and the “Light the Way Dinner Auction” to help raise funds for the American Childhood Cancer Organization of the Inland Northwest.

The award’s Selection Committee Chairman Rob Perry shared that “We have been blessed with nominees of remarkable character and strength. Roldan’s accomplishments and fortitude have earned him a place of honor among some exceptional young men.”


The 2018 Fred Mitchell Award finalists included:

  • Central Colloge (IA), Div III – John Alberts
  • Eastern Washington, FCS – Roldan Alcobendas
  • Fort Hayes (KS), Div II – Dante Brown
  • Colorado State-Pueblo, D II – Mitchell Carter
  • Northern Iowa, FCS – Austin Errthum
  • Wisconsin-Whitewater, D III – Wojciech Gasienica
  • East Tennessee State, FCS – J.J. Jerman
  • Texas A&M-Commerce, FCS – Kristov Martinez
  • Concordia (MN), D II – Jonas Schenderlein
  • DePauw (IN), D III – Jake Tanner

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s