2018 FCS DPOY: Buck Buchanan Award


The Buck Buchanan Award is awarded annually to the most outstanding defensive player in the Division I Football Championship Subdivision of college football, and was first given in 1995.

In 1962, Buck Buchanan was an NAIA All-American DL at Grambling.

Who Votes?

Following the regular season, a national panel of 153 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries voted on the Buck Buchanan Award, named for the Pro and College Football Hall-of-Famer.




Hall is the second-straight OVC player to win the Buchanan Award, joining Jacksonville State’s Darius Jackson from a year ago.

Hall posted an FCS-high 168 tackles as Southeast Missouri went 9-4 for its first winning season since 2010. The Redhawks snapped Jacksonville State’s 36-game winning streak in the Ohio Valley Conference – Hall had a game-high 15 tackles and a key blocked kick – and beat Stony Brook in the playoffs.

The 6-foot, 230-pound linebacker, named the OVC Defensive Player of the Year, contributed six takeaways – four interceptions and two fumble recoveries – and forced four fumbles. He reached double figures in tackles in 10 of 13 games, including a career-high 22 against FBS member Arkansas State – the most by an OVC player in 10 years.

In addition to winning the Buchanan Award, Hall was named to seven different FCS All-America teams.


The 2018 Buchanan Award finalists included:

  • Southeast Missouri – MLB Zach Hall, junior
  • Montana – MLB Donte Olson, junior
  • Sam Houston State – DE Derick Roberson, senior

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s