2018 Harlon Hill Award: DII Player of the Year


The Harlon Hill Trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s best NCAA Division II football player.

The Hill Trophy is named for the late Harlon Hill, a former University of North Alabama standout, who excelled with the UNA Lions from 1950-53 before going on to fame in the NFL with the Chicago Bears. He was the NFL Rookie of the Year in 1954 and winner of the Jim Thorpe Trophy as the NFL Player of the Year in 1955.




Jayru Campbell led his Ferris State Bulldogs to a 15-1 record – the only loss coming in an exciting NCAA Division II National Championship game, losing 48-47 to Rogan Well’s Valdosta State team. It was the first time in the 33-year history of the Harlon Hill award that the top two finishers have met in the national title game. 

Campbell, a former JUCO player, has been sensational in his first year at Ferris State. The junior quarterback from Detroit led all NCAA Division II quarterbacks in rushing with 1,460 yards while throwing for 2,931 with 27 touchdowns. The GLIAC Player of the Year accounted for a national-best 49 touchdowns.


The 2018 Harlon Hill Award finalists included:

  • Ferris State – QB Jayru Campbell, junior
  • Valdosta State – QB Rogan Wells, sophomore
  • Notre Dame College – Jaleel McLaughlin, freshman


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s