2019 Outland Trophy: College Football’s Best Interior Lineman


The 2018 Outland Trophy is awarded annually to the Nation’s Best College Interior Lineman on offense or defense.

The Outland Trophy is the third-oldest major college football award, created in 1946.




Sewell, a native of Malaeimi, American Samoa, has been named the Outland Trophy winner for 2019. Sewell has be outstanding in his protection of star quarterback Justin Herbert. In 466 pass-blocking snaps this season, Sewell has allowed just seven pressures and no sacks. 

Helping Oregon to a 12-2 record and a Pac-12 title, Sewell was the best player on an offensive line that boasts future NFL draft picks Shane Lemieux, Calvin Throckmorton, and Jason Hanson.

Sewell was one of the best run blocking left tackles in the game this year, helping the sophomore running back C.J. Verdell to top the 1,200 yard mark for the season.

Along with the Outland honors, Sewell was also named 2019 Co-Polynesian College Football Player of the Year along with Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa.


The 2019 Outland Trophy finalists included:

  • Oregon – OT Penei Sewell
  • Auburn – DT Derrick Brown
  • Georgia – OT Andrew Thomas


2018 Outland Trophy Winner: Quinnen Williams


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s