2019 Big Ten Awards

Power 5


Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year: DE CHASE YOUNG, OHIO STATE

Photo: Joe Maiorana|USA TODAY Sports

Young racked up 21 tackles for loss and 16.5 sacks en route to Defensive Player of the Year honors in the Big Ten. Pretty impressive considering Young missed two games this season. Plus, in Young’s last three games — against Michigan, Wisconsin and Clemson — he had zero sacks and just 1.5 tackles for loss. 

Young did not take part in any of the on-field workouts for his position group at the NFL Scouting Combine. He was to participate in position drills during Ohio State’s pro day on March 25 – but that has since been canceled due to the new Corona Virus Outbreak.


Be sure to check out: Nat L. Faybian’s NFL Mock Draft 2.0


Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year: QB JUSTIN FIELDS, OHIO STATE

Last year, Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins was named the Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year.

This year, it’s Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields. The Georgia transfer threw for 3,273 yards and 41 touchdowns, ran for 484 yards and 10 touchdowns in his first season as Ohio State’s starting quarterback. The Buckeyes were undefeated in the regular season and won the Big Ten Championship.

“I’m proud of his development,” head coach Ryan Day said. “He’s come a long way in the pocket, moving in the pocket, seeing things and drop-back protection. We have a list of things that he’s working on to get better at.”


Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year: WR DAVID BELL, PURDUE

Photo: The Champaign Room

Purdue’s Rondale Moore was named the Big Ten Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year in 2018, and now David Bell follows in his footsteps.

With Rondale Moore limited to four games due to injury, Purdue turned to freshman wide receiver David Bell. Bell led the conference with 86 catches for 1,035 yards and seven scores.


Rodgers-Dwight Return Specialist of the Year: JAVON LEAKE, MARYLAND

Leake finished third in FBS, while leading the Big Ten, with 804 kick return yards. He also led Big Ten with two kick return touchdowns, tied for the most in a single season in Maryland history. Leake ranked 13th nationally and led Big Ten with a 26.8 kick return average. He has declared for the April’s NFL Draft.


Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year: : P.J. FLECK, MINNESOTA

Photo: Gopher Sports

Big Ten coaches have selected P.J. Fleck as their choice for the Big Ten’s Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year. Fleck was honored with the award after leading the Minnesota Golden Gophers to their first 10-win regular season since 1905.

Fleck led the Gophers to their first 9-0 start since 1904, culminating in a 31-26 upset of then No. 4-ranked Penn State. Minnesota was ranked as high as No. 8 at one point by the College Football Playoff selection committee.


QB | RB | WR | TE | OT | OG | OC

Nat L. Faybian’s NFL Draft Players Position Rankings

DE | DT | OLB | ILB | CB | S | ST


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s