2019 PAC-12 Awards



Offensive Player of the Year: RB ZACK MOSS, UTAH

Photo: Rick Bowmer/Associated Press

Utah running back Zack Moss was named the PAC-12 Offensive Player of the Year. Moss led the Utes in rushing with 1,416 yards, 15 touchdowns, averaging 6.0 yards per carry. He also had 28 receptions for 388 yards and two scores through the air.

On Nov. 23, Moss broke loose for 203 yards on 26 carries versus Arizona.


Be sure to check out: Nat L. Faybian’s NFL Mock Draft 2.0


Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year: ILB EVAN WEAVER, CALIFORNIA

Weaver led the nation in tackles last fall and earned consensus All-America honors as well as Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year. 

Weaver led the country with 181 tackles in 13 starts (that includes a whopping 103 solo efforts — 20 more than the second-place finisher in solo tackles, Colorado’s Nate Landman). Ten of those tackles were for losses, including 2.5 sacks; Weaver also broke up three passes and forced two fumbles for the Golden Bears.


Freshman Offensive Player of the Year: QB KEDON SLOVIS, USC

USC’s Kedon Slovis set quite a few records, while on his way to being named the PAC-12 Freshman of the Year. His 71.9 completion percentage is a USC single season best. It’s also the best in Pac-12 single-season history (with a minimum of 300 attempts) which was previously set by Stanford’s Andrew Luck in 2011.

Slovis also set USC’s single-season records for passing efficiency (167.6); and for most consecutive 300-yard passing games (three).


Freshman Defensive Player of the Year: DE KAYVON THIBODEAUX, OREGON

Oregon defensive end Kayvon Thibodeaux earned Pac-12 Football Freshman Defensive Player of the Year honors after his dynamic first season with the Ducks. Thibodeaux broke the Oregon freshman record with 9 sacks, which was also good for second among all FBS freshmen this season.

Thibodeaux racked up an impressive 14 tackles-for-loss, the second most in the PAC-12. He showed his growth and development in the PAC-12 Football Championship Game, notching 2.5 sacks and the first ever blocked punt in PAC-12 Championship game history, as the Ducks upset Utah 37-15.



Utah’s Kyle Whittingham earned PAC-12 Coach of the Year honors after leading Utah to a sterling 11-2 season and an appearance in the Alamo Bowl. The Utes narrowly missed a berth in the College Football Playoff and spent most of the season ranked as a top-10 team.

In 2019, the Utes featured a punishing defense which finished top of the Pac-12 in points per game allowed (13.2), yards per game allowed (256.2), and yards per play allowed (4.4).

Whittingham becomes the first Utah coach to win a PAC-12 Coach of the Year award since the Utes joined the PAC-12 Conference. He had previously won Mountain West Coach of the Year when Utah went 13-0 in 2008.


QB | RB | WR | TE | OT | OG | OC

Nat L. Faybian’s NFL Draft Players Position Rankings

DE | DT | OLB | ILB | CB | S | ST